Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

ERC’s Steffen Mueller, PHD Appointed To New Study Committee: Current Methods for Life Cycle Analyses of Low-Carbon Transportation Fuels in the United States


The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine’s Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology (BEST) is pleased to announce the provisional committee for a new consensus study, Current Methods for Life Cycle Analyses of Low Carbon Transportation Fuels in the United States. This study aims to develop a reliable and coherent approach for applying LCA to low carbon fuel standards.

Committee Members:

  • Valerie M. Thomas, PhD, Chair, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Amos A. Avidan, PhD, Bechtel Corp. (Retired)
  • Jennifer B. Dunn, PhD, Northwestern University
  • Patrick L. Gurian, PhD, Drexel University
  • Jason D. Hill, PhD, University of Minnesota
  • Madhu Khanna, PhD, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Annie Levasseur, PhD, École de technologie supérieure
  • Jeremy J. Michalek, PhD, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Steffen Mueller, PhD, The University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Mr. Nikita Pavlenko, International Council on Clean Transportation
  • Mr. Donald W. Scott, Scientific Certification Systems
  • Corinne D. Scown, PhD, University of California, Berkeley
  • Dev S. Shrestha, PhD, University of Idaho
  • Farzad Taheripour, PhD, Purdue University
  • Yuan Yao, PhD, Yale University

This consensus study will be administered by the Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology, in collaboration with the Board on Agriculture and Natural Resources, the Board on Energy and Environmental Systems, and the Transportation Research Board Technical Activities Division.